Classics Series – Return to Life

Sat | Sept 17, 2022 – 7:30PM

Sun | Sept 18, 2022 – 3PM

Grand Junction Symphony Orchestra returns with its first Classics Concert of the 22/23 Season to perform John Estacio’s Frenergy, Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto #1 featuring Zhengyi Huang, piano, winner of GJSO’s 2022 Young Artist Competition, and Beethoven’s Symphony No. 7 in A Major. Composed after a much-needed restorative spa holiday in 1811, Symphony No. 7 sounds like what Beethoven would later call a ‘return to life’.


Frenergy by John Estacio

Piano Concerto #1 by Rachmaninoff

Symphony No. 7 in A Major by Beethoven


Grand Junction Symphony Orchestra

Charles Latshaw, conductor

Zhengyi Huang, piano

About this Performance

On Saturday, September 17, 2022 – 7:30 PM and Sunday, September 18, 2022 – 3:00 PM, the Grand Junction Symphony Orchestra (GJSO) will perform Return to Life, the first Classic Series concert of the 22/23 GJSO season, under the musical direction of maestro, Charles Latshaw, at the Avalon Theatre in Grand Junction, Colorado! The program for this concert consists of John Estacio’s Frenergy, Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto #1 featuring special guest Zhengyi Huang, of the GJSO 2022 Young Artists Competition, and Beethoven’s Symphony No. 7 in A Major.

The Grand Junction Symphony prides itself on selecting the finest artists to perform concerti with the orchestra through its Young Artist Competition each year. The instrument chosen for the competition rotates each year between piano, solo instrument, and voice. Pianist, Zhengyi Huang, was the 2022 Young Artists Competition winner, and will perform as GJSO special guest during Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto #1.

Single tickets will be available for $15-$45 ($5 students) and will be available for purchase in June of 2022. For more information, please contact or 970 243 6787.

Getting Here

Directions & Parking

When You’re Here

COVID-19 Policy, Nearby Dining, Accessibility


Arrival Time, Food/Drink, What to Wear, Digital Tickets