Next Event in:
+ +
35 days
3 hours
28 minutes
10 seconds

Former GJSO concertmaster Carlos Elías returns for an evening of chamber music with pianist Andrea Arese-Elias and cellist Kristen Yun

Carlos Elías, former concertmaster of the Grand Junction Symphony Orchestra (GJSO), is returning to Grand Junction with his wife Andrea Arese-Elias to perform as part of the GJSO’s Chamber Concert Series along with current GJSO co-principal cellist Kristen Yun on Friday, October 13th at Monument Presbyterian Church. The concert begins at 7:30pm and will feature Beethoven’s “Ghost” Piano Trio No. 1, Mendelssohn’s Piano Trio No. 2, and Piazzola’s Otoño Porteño.

Carlos Elías has been Violin Professor and Conductor of the Symphony Orchestra at Cedarville University in Cedarville, OH since leaving Grand Junction in 2013. He has performed in solo recitals and in orchestras in the United States, El Salvador, Argentina, Bulgaria, Japan, and Korea, and represented El Salvador at the World Philharmonic Orchestra under the baton of Lorin Maazel. He has participated in several music festivals, such as Congress of Strings, Aspen Music Festival (CO), Sarasota Music Festival (FL), Casals Festival (Puerto Rico), Affinis Music Festival (Japan), Western Slope Music Festival (CO), Corsi Internazionali di Musica (Italy), Raphael Trio Chamber Music Workshop (VT), and Music in the Mountains (CO).

Andrea Arese-Elías was born in Cordoba, Argentina, and has performed extensively as a solo and chamber musician in countries which include Argentina, Mexico, El Salvador, Japan, Bulgaria, South Korea, and the United States. As a chamber musician she has collaborated with renowned artists such as Andres Cardenes, Stephen Balderston, Robert Spring, Rafael Figueroa and Susan Salm. She has performed as a soloist with the Cordoba Symphony Orchestra (Argentina), the Pleven Symphony Orchestra (Bulgaria), Cincinnati’s Philharmonia Orchestra, Symphony in the Valley and the Grand Junction Symphony, among others.

An Assistant Professor at Colorado Mesa University, Kristen Yeon-Ji Yun, DM, is active as a soloist, chamber musician, musical scholar and clinician. She is a prize winner in numerous competitions around the world, including the IBLA World Competition in Italy in 2008, the 11th Annual Competition in the Performance of Music from Spain and Latin America, Travel Grant Competition, Walton Concerto Competition at Indiana University, Indianapolis Matinee Musicale, Chunchu Music Competition, Seoul National Competition, Nan-Pa Music Competition, Korean-American Competition, etc. In 2011, Yeon-Ji Yun received Honorable Mention in the Liszt-Garrison International Competition Collaborate Artist in Baltimore, MD. She has soloed with many orchestras such as Grand Junction Symphony Orchestra, Korean Symphony Orchestra, Colorado Mesa University Orchestra, Indiana University Orchestra, and others.

Beethoven’s most famous piano student, the composer Carl Czerny, wrote in 1842 that the second movement of the Piano Trio in D, the Largo assai, reminded him of the ghost of Hamlet’s father. He was close; evidence from pages of Beethoven’s notebook suggests that the composer was discussing an opera of Shakespeare’s Macbeth with the playwright Heinrich von Collin at the time. The words “Macbett” and “Ende” appear near sketches for the Largo. The “Ghost” movement was possibly meant for a scene of the three Witches. Czerny’s nickname stuck; today the work is known as the “Ghost” Trio.

Mendelssohn’s Piano Trio No. 2, written in 1845, a few years after No. 1, gives further evidence – if any were needed – that Mendelssohn was a wonderfully predictable composer. For whatever medium he wrote he easily summoned the large quantities of elegance and flair that were intrinsic to his nature. Thus, in the genre of chamber music he did not have to strive to be more aristocratic than in forms that are not as dependent upon that characteristic.

Piazzola’s Otoño Porteño (Buenos Aires Autumn) is part of his Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas, also known as The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires, which are a set of four tango compositions written by Ástor Piazzolla.

Special thanks to Chuck & Robbie Breaux for their support of the GJSO’s Chamber Concert Series since its inception.

Tickets are $30 per person and can be purchased online at, by calling 243-6787, or visiting the GJSO office at 414 Main Street. Tickets will also be available at Monument Presbyterian Church (2020 1/2 S. Broadway) one hour prior to the concert. An assortment of desserts, coffee, tea, and lemonade are included as part of the ticket price.

© 2018 Grand Junction Symphony Orchestra, All Rights Reserved